No need for a 2022 election day poll

New Island Council announced

Tristan da Cunha Island Council 2022-2025

Photograph of the new Island Council taken in the Council Chamber on 1st April 2022

Back Row: Joint Administrators and Presidents of the Council Fiona Kilpatrick and Steve Townsend
Middle Row: Rodney Green, Carlene Glass-Green, Ian Lavarello, Terence Green
Front Row: Chief Islander James Glass, Vera Glass, Conrad Glass

Island Councillors missing from the photograph: Steve Swain, Warren Glass, Anne Green and Beverley Swain.

Island Council Election 2022 Notice of explanation

The Presiding Officer Helene Jaumotte announced on 23rd March 2022 that as one of the nine candidates for the Island Council had withdrawn their nomination from contention in the upcoming Island Council Elections, there would be no need for a poll.

Schedule 1(5) of the Island Council Ordinance 1985 reads as follows:

(5) If not more than 8 candidates are nominated and at least one of those candidates is a female candidate, they must be returned unopposed, in any other case, a poll must be taken on the date fixed for the election between the hours of 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.

As these conditions were fulfilled, those nominated were duly returned unopposed.

The 2022-2025 Island Council consists of:

  • Elected members:
    • Conrad Glass
    • James Glass
    • Vera Glass
    • Warren Glass
    • Rodney Green
    • Terence Green
    • Ian Lavarello
    • Steve Swain
  • Members nominated by the Joint Administrators:
    • Carlene Glass-Green
    • Anne Green
    • Beverley Swain
  • Chief Islander:
    • James Glass

James has now been elected Chief Islander on five occasions and served in the post - 1994-1997, 1997-2000, 2000-2003, 2019-2022, and from 2022 onwards. This extends his record tenure in the role eclipsing the three terms served by both Harold Green and Ian Lavarello.